NetLibrary – Search Results

Game Design: Theory & Practice

They were just really nice people to deal with. Did you come up with the term “software toy”? I think I did, because I was giving a talk at the Game Developer’s Conference, way back, and I decided that would be the name of my talk. It was “Software Toys: The Intersection of Creativity, Empathy, and.”something. Some high-falutin’ sounding talk. How would you distinguish between a software toy and a game? Toys can be used to build games. You can play games with toys. But you can also engage in more freeform play with toys. It doesn’t have to be a goal directed activity. I think of toys as being more open-ended than games. We can use a ball to play a game such as basketball, or we can just toss the ball back and forth, or I can experiment

Posted via web from Our Toy Story

Comments Off on NetLibrary – Search Results

Filed under 1

Comments are closed.