IPad Helps 99-Year-Old Rediscover Reading – Technology News Story – KPTV Portland

From Evernote:

IPad Helps 99-Year-Old Rediscover Reading – Technology News Story – KPTV Portland

Clipped from: http://www.kptv.com/technology/23231501/detail.html

IPad Helps 99-Year-Old Rediscover Reading

Glaucoma Made It Hard For Woman To Read, Write

POSTED: 7:45 am PDT April 22, 2010
UPDATED: 8:00 am PDT April 22, 2010

99-YEAR-OLD IPAD USER
LAKE OSWEGO, Ore. — A 99-year-old Lake Oswego woman has rediscovered her passion for reading and writing thanks to Apple’s newest gadget, Portland TV station KPTV reported.

Writing was always a big part of Virginia Campbell’s life, but glaucoma recently made it difficult for her to read.

"I found recently that I wasn’t even able to read large-print library books because there wasn’t enough contrast between the print and the page," she said. "I could write them all right, but I couldn’t read what I wrote."

When penning her passion became too difficult, her family brought the near-centenarian into the 21st century by giving her an Apple iPad — the tablet computer with a touch screen.

"The type jumps out at me," she said. "Now I can read again and it’s just opened up the world."

On Wednesday, Campbell said the iPad is "kind of addictive." The device’s oversized type and the contrast between the bright background and bold letters help bring stories into focus.

The iPad even inspired Campbell to write a poem:

To this technology-ninny it’s clear
In my compromised 100th year,
That to read and to write
Are again within sight
Of this Apple iPad pioneer.

As she approached her 100th birthday, Campbell could only marvel at her longevity.

"When I was born in 1910, they barely had an automobile in any use," she said. "I’m only 99, but I consider myself in my 100th year."

Since Campbell’s rediscovery of reading and writing, her son-in-law posted a video of her using the iPad on YouTube. It has since received 37,900 hits.

Campbell said she isn’t particularly interested in using the Internet on her iPad, but she doesn’t plan to slow down when it comes her reading and writing.

"You’re never too old to take advantage of something that will help you," she said.