ACU Apple iPad Exploration Pilot Program

@font-face { font-family: “Cambria”; }p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: Cambria; }h2 { margin: 10pt 0in 0.0001pt; page-break-after: avoid; font-size: 10pt; font-family: Cambria; }span.Heading2Char { font-family: “Times New Roman”; font-weight: bold; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }

I was recently selected, Fall 2010, for the Abilene Christian University Apple iPad Exploration Pilot Program 

An Art & Design Foundations eText, ACU is interested in exploring the potential of the Apple iPad as an educational tool. I was selected as one of approximately 20 full-time ACU faculty to begin explorations and investigations with the iPad. I was awarded this grant through a competitive application process under the oversight of the ACU Research Council and the Mobile Learning Leadership Team. My proposal will focus on explorations in how future generations will interact with, publish, and consume academic texts.

 

ACU Apple iPad Exploration Pilot Program – interim report by Kenny Jones 9/1/10   

First, I would like to express my thanks for the opportunity to participate in this exploration. I 
state often in my art design classes that, “Without pure research imagination dies”, and I am 
grateful that the Mobile Learning team has allowed me to practice what I preach in this regards. 
 The first thing that strikes me about the iPad is that it is truly an interstitial device, not merely a 
larger iPhone nor a laptop without a keyboard. It inhabits an in‐between category and mining its 
potential will require some non‐traditional strategies. My reflections on some of the iPad’s 
capabilities follow. 
 

1. Leveraging the fourth Dimension – This was the most compelling aspect of the iPad’s use in the 
classroom. Videos such as, “how to center a pot on a pottery wheel” from YouTube is one example 
of how I could simultaneously post information and share it in situations where no laptop dare go, 
i.e. a clay studio. The fact that I could not bring in a computer‐projector assembly made the iPad 
invaluable for showing digital content. Another 4D experience is the use of the iPad’s Photo app. 
Here I can zoom in on details while on the fly, such as during a field trip. I have noticed a deeper 
comprehension comes from students viewing the before and after of a scale change, and that with 
the pinch of two fingers. 
 

2. Related to this experience is the fact of the larger size screen than the iPhone possesses. This 
allows for a more human scale touch gesture, which can more readily leverage an intuitive 
computer interface. This fact has left me wishing for this type of interface on a regular computer. 
For it seems that the mouse interface is a step removed from the exploration with my hands and 
has potentially thrown up a barrier to fuller comprehension by students, especially students with 
a verbal learning challenge. The Keynote app seems to take greatest advantage of this capability. 
Other apps which utilize this touch intuition are: Brushes, SketchbookX, Flipbook, Adobe Ideas, PS 
Express, Sculpt 3D. I am excited that we may be looking at a device that can dramatically reduce 
the learning curve of computer applications, something that I have observed a significant number 
of students seem to struggle with. 
 

3. Even though the iPad has no camera, nor a true GPS system (it does have the wifi‐type GPS) it 
does allow for a useful Augmented Relatiy (AR) experience. AR iPhone apps such as, Layar, 
Navigator, Sea Breeze, and Skywalk work quite well, sometimes better than on the iPhone. This is 
due to the larger screen that frees up the “traffic jam” of entries.  Note: I plan on looking into t
he Eye-Fi card, “a wireless memory card. It looks, stores media, and fits into cameras just like a regular SDHC card. On top of that, the Eye-Fi card has built-in Wi-Fi that uses your wireless network to  transfer photos and videos.” Used in concert with a regular digital camera I think we will have a managable work around.
 

4. Reading on the iPad has been a delight; the book‐like experience improves my concentration 
when compared to a laptop. This may have to due with the limited multi‐tasking that is available 
on the iPad, which seems to be a “less is more” situation, at least for now. Additionally, I was 
intrigued by the potential for sharing my experience of reading a book on the iPad. For example, I 
can highlight, copy, paste and email or share on a blog. My favorite app by far in this regard is 
Evernote. I currently have 836 clipped, webcamed, and pasted notes in my Evernote, it is seamless from all my 
computer devices, I share the same content on iPhone, Laptop and iPad without a physical 
tethered sync. The other document/reading apps that have created an intriguing experience are 
Pages, Dragon Dictation, Voice Memos. Also the ePrint content is equally compelling: Popular 
Science Magazine, Marvel Comics, iBooks, Kindle. 

 

Comments Off on ACU Apple iPad Exploration Pilot Program

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.